Reviews

5/10 Romasanta: The Werewolf Hunt

Alas, what do persist all too strongly in my mind are the schmaltzy, woman-in-love-with-dangerous-stranger clichés on display in the movie.

Posted 06/10/11 by Tor
1/10 Fall Down Dead

A low budget slasher makes Angelo question his life decisions...

Posted 06/09/11 by Angelo B
7/10 Raising Cain Posted 06/08/11 by John Shelton
4/10 Zombie Women of Satan

In the end, I pretty much got what I expected from this movie.

Posted 06/03/11 by Tor
7/10 The Dunwich Horror

Finally! A Lovecraft film that's actually worth watching!

Posted 06/02/11 by Angelo B
9/10 I Saw the Devil

...this is one of those rare occasions where an interesting idea with mostly good but few great elements is elevated into the must-see category by virtue of having a singular quality.

Posted 05/27/11 by Tor
6/10 My Son, My Son, What Have Ye Done

In case you were wondering, yes, there is an inexplicable midget.

Posted 05/24/11 by John Shelton
5/10 The Violent Kind

...everyone in Hollywood seems to suffer from not knowing what they are missing when it comes to Tiffany Shepis.

Posted 05/20/11 by Tor
3/10 The Night Shift

A well made film killed by horrible pacing

Posted 05/19/11 by Angelo B
7/10 The Killer Inside Me

“The Killer Inside Me” is a quintessential “through the eyes of a serial killer” story.

Posted 05/17/11 by John Shelton
2/10 DeathTube: Broadcast Murder Show (X Game)

"Saw" meets "Hello Kitty". The end result? Something that can only be made in Japan.

Posted 05/12/11 by Angelo B
8/10 The Man From Nowhere

You don’t want to give a Korean any reason to seek revenge on you.

Posted 05/10/11 by John Shelton
9/10 Confessions (Kokuhaku)

a film this good doesn’t need to garner the big hardware to be accepted as great.

Posted 05/06/11 by Tor
7/10 Plankton (Creatures from the Abyss)

The best movie about a mad scientist that has sex with prehistoric fish monsters that I've ever seen. Sadly, there's some stiff competition for that award, no pun intended.

Posted 05/05/11 by Angelo B
7/10 Norwegian Ninja

Imagine “Danger: Diabolik” as directed by Wes Anderson with additional input by JFK-era Oliver Stone.

Posted 05/03/11 by John Shelton
7/10 Eyes of the Mothman

...works as an atmospheric creature feature, with simple but largely effective dramatizations helping to immerse the viewer in the weird mood of that time and place.

Posted 04/29/11 by Tor
9/10 Onibaba (Demon Woman)

Remember when Japanese horror films didn't all have that annoying, wet ghost-girl with the emo hair?

Posted 04/28/11 by Angelo B
2/10 The Bleeding House

Plodding indie family drama meets torture porn. With bad accents.

Posted 04/26/11 by John Shelton
5/10 The Beast Within (1982)

This is the best movie ever to combine H.P. Lovecraft’s “The Case of Charles Dexter Ward” with William Burroughs’ “Naked Lunch” and structure it like the life cycle of a Cicada.

Posted 04/22/11 by Tor
7/10 Heartless

“Heartless” is in many ways, the best Clive Barker movie Clive Barker had nothing to do with.

Posted 04/21/11 by John Shelton
2/10 Mongolian Death Worm

It's like "Tremors" but way, way shittier

Posted 04/20/11 by Angelo B
6/10 Scream 4

What can I say...

Posted 04/17/11 by Eric
3/10 Act of Vengeance

If a movie is going to have something as transgressive as serial rape at the core of its story a defining act of revenge is the bare minimum required for a viewer to endure the rest of the grueling ride.

Posted 04/15/11 by Tor
5/10 Hyenas

I can't believe this movie is real.

Posted 04/13/11 by Angelo B
4/10 Shadow

Looks like we'll have to wait a little longer for the Italian horror renaissance.

Posted 04/12/11 by John Shelton
10/10 Insidious Posted 04/09/11 by Louis Fowler
3/10 Land of the Minotaur

“Land of the Minotaur” suffers from being too much like other films with out being enough like them in the right ways.

Posted 04/08/11 by Tor
2/10 Mandrake

It's like an episode of "Scooby Doo" had sex with a "Goosebumps" book and shat out a really stupid child.

Posted 04/06/11 by Angelo B
6/10 Rubber

A post-modern mash-up of “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes” and “Scanners”?

Posted 04/05/11 by John Shelton
4/10 Husk

The most 'meh' film I've ever seen

Posted 03/30/11 by Angelo B

Around the Web

What's New?

This week we discuss alchemy, camera technology, a first time guest host joins the show, and we review "As Above, So Below".  

Podcast

Latest Reviews

Search

Around The Web