Reviews

7/10 The Stepfather (2009) Posted 09/01/10 by Casey
4/10 Burnt Offerings

If, like most BGH readers, you live in 2010 and have seen more than two horror movies then “Burnt Offerings” is likely to be a smoldering pile of yawn.

Posted 08/31/10 by John Shelton
6/10 The Last Exorcism

"The Last Exorcism" is a lo-fi horror success story.

Posted 08/28/10 by Jon
6/10 Darkness: The Vampire Version Posted 08/27/10 by Tor
2/10 Paranormal Entity Posted 08/25/10 by Casey
5/10 Sea of Dust

No matter how much I want to love a movie that ends with an ecstatic Tom Savini nailed to a cross, after 90 minutes of boredom and confusion I just wanted it to be over and done with.

Posted 08/24/10 by John Shelton
7/10 Piranha 3D

Aja makes his case for a world after "gorno" with the sheer over-the-top-itude of "Piranha 3D"

Posted 08/21/10 by Jon
8/10 Mother (Madeo) Posted 08/20/10 by Tor
8/10 The Lost Skeleton Returns Again Posted 08/18/10 by Casey
7/10 Meat Grinder

“Meat Grinder” might just be the most densely plotted, stylistically complex, melodramatic torture porn ever made.

Posted 08/17/10 by John Shelton
3/10 Vampires Suck

"I don't have any intentions to watch the "Twilight" films any time soon, either, so there is a chance that some of the humor here is completely lost on me."

Posted 08/12/10 by Casey
7/10 The Horseman

The bulk of this movie has a good bit of nastiness to it, delivered with well-motivated, animalistic energy...

Posted 08/11/10 by Tor
6/10 House (Hausu)

There’s a reason “Hausu” feels like it was made by a child on the combined influence of mescaline and Pixy Stix: it was.

Posted 08/10/10 by John Shelton
8/10 The Host (Gwoemul)

Rather than being a one-note film, Bong Joon-ho has crafted a horror experience that can be all things to all viewers.

Posted 08/09/10 by mark
5/10 Under the Salt (Bajo la Sal)

It is real life horror and it is as profoundly annihilating as the world gets outside of an identified “war zone”.

Posted 08/07/10 by Tor
7/10 The Girl Who Knew Too Much

“The Girl Who Knew Too Much” is both enormously entertaining and historically significant.

Posted 08/05/10 by John Shelton
4/10 The Cabinet of Dr Caligari (2005)

The problem with this superfluous remake is that there is literally nothing new or original on display

Posted 08/03/10 by John Shelton
2/10 Razortooth

"B-films based around monsters tend to live or die based on the allure of their chosen abomination, and in that way, "Razortooth" deserves a powerful sigh of indifference."

Posted 08/02/10 by mark
10/10 The Vanishing (Spoorloos)

From that simple synopsis you might never suspect that “The Vanishing” may be the most horrifying film of the 1980’

Posted 08/02/10 by Tor
6/10 Brutal Massacre: A Comedy Posted 07/28/10 by Casey
7/10 Twilight: New Moon (Rifftrax version)

There are a couple of tricks to making Twilight movies not merely tolerable, but downright enjoyable.

Posted 07/27/10 by John Shelton
7/10 Love Object

It would pair up nicely as the gender-swapped back half of a double feature with Lucky Mckee’s “May”

Posted 07/26/10 by John Shelton
8/10 Werckmeister Harmonies

Philosophically I am sure a good deal of this film flew right over my head.

Posted 07/23/10 by Tor
7/10 Common Wealth (La Comunidad)

If you’re a fan of Hitchcock, pitch black comedy and nasty people doing nasty things to each other, “Common Wealth” will probably be right up your dark alley.

Posted 07/19/10 by John Shelton
7/10 Genesis

Henry Darger was a quiet recluse who wandered the streets collecting scraps of paper....

Posted 07/19/10 by Tor
5/10 2001 Maniacs: Field of Screams

The film's funniest and most entertaining moments spring from the over-the-top kill scenes that are often too short for my tastes.

Posted 07/15/10 by mark
2/10 Cornered!

That, dear readers, is how you irritate my inner Mahoney.

Posted 07/13/10 by Todd
7/10 Alone in the Dark (1982)

Packed with quotable lines, memorable scenes and great performances, “Alone in the Dark” is a VHS gem that deserves a higher profile.

Posted 07/12/10 by John Shelton
5/10 Aftermath

Unless you have a need to indulge your necro-agraphobia (fear of sexual abuse after death) you are better off spending 104 minutes watching Jorg’s “Nekromantik 2”

Posted 07/09/10 by Tor
1/10 Cameron's Closet

This dodgy motion picture is one of the major reasons I was terrified of dark closets in my youth, a wholly irrational fear that lingers to this day.

Posted 07/06/10 by Todd

Around the Web

What's New?

This week we discuss alchemy, camera technology, a first time guest host joins the show, and we review "As Above, So Below".  

Podcast

Latest Reviews

Search

Around The Web